Obama vs Clinton and the Service Economy

I had to laugh at yesterday’s email of the day, at The Stump (the New Republic’s election blog). It describes one Clinton’s supporter’s experience trying find her local poling place by calling the Clinton and Obama campaign HQs, respectively. When she called Clinton HQ,

A very nice elderly lady answered the phone and I asked her if she could tell me where to vote. She took my address down and then kept me on the line for 10 minutes while she struggled to use a computer to find out where I was supposed to go. She then went to the DC board of elections site and finally, after taking my name and birth date, was able to tell me where my polling site is.

Then she called Obama HQ:

I dialed the 800 number and pushed the option to find out where to vote. A chirpy 20-something answered the phone and within 20 seconds told me where to go.

This experience reminds me of nothing so much as my own experiences with customer service in Pittsburgh (Clinton) compared after moving from Austin (Obama). The most familiar aspect of the contrast is not difference in age or computer skills so much as the general level of unpreparedness for what should be an obvious and expected question. Somehow people in service jobs around here seem to expect everyone to know everything already.

So should I predict from this that Clinton will win Pittsburgh’s pledged delegates?

One Response to “Obama vs Clinton and the Service Economy”

  1. Jason Says:

    Most people in Pittsburgh even know where the Isaly’s used to be. Most Clinton supporters probably know where the local polling place used to be. New people move to Austin and they don’t always know where the “insert Austin Landmark here” used to be. A significant number (i am sure enough so that they get a few calls a day) of Obama supporters are new to politics and so they don’t know where the polling place is now, never mind where it used to be.

    I will be really surprised if Clinton does not win PGH.


Leave a Reply

