SfN Housing: 500 West

For SfN I’m staying at 500 West, a downtown hotel that advertises its “European” style. Apparently, European hotels have jail-cell-sized rooms, shared bathrooms, really slow wi-fi, and graffiti in the elevator. ;-)

Actually, To be fair, this a “get what you pay for” situation, and the room itself, though small, is clean and well kept, and the hotel is right in the heart of downtown San Diego. I would in fact recommend this place to single travelers looking for a cheap, clean place to crash in SD. 500 West advertises itself as a “hostel hotel,” and it is at least as nice as the best London hostel I’ve stayed in.

The one thing that bothers me, though, is that I reserved the room through SfN’s on-line housing service, and I feel like I was ripped off. A labmate from UTCS reserved a room later through sandiegohotels.com for 30% less than I paid.

Also, the free Wayport wi-fi is excruciatingly slow.

Leave a Reply

