I have not failed…

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.
— Thomas Edison
(seen on Now This log)

This statement of perseverance seems particularly apropos of life as a PhD student, and it makes me feel good. Sometimes you have to find 10,000 ways that won’t work so that you can find the 10,001st way that does work.

I haven’t been posting lately because I’ve been super busy. In the last few weeks I finished up the camera-ready copy for a paper I have in the AAAI-2004 Workshop on Learning and Planning in Markov Processes and then submitted a revised paper on the same topic to NIPS04. I feel like all the slogging along getting my code infrastructure together and setting things up so I can run batches of simulations in parallel on our new cluster is paying off, and I’m finally to the point where I can do science, and start thinking about the actual scientific questions I want to investigate, rather than how to get my simulations to run fast enough that I can get results back while I’m still (relatively) young.

I’ll save the details of the two papers for a different posting, though you can find the workshop paper on my research page.

Leave a Reply

