The computer says I’m a visionary?

So I finally took the Meyers-Briggs personality test. It said I’m an ENTP. I’m often dubious of these kinds of things, but this and other ENTP characterizations seem to be pretty accurate. Some telling quotes:

ENTPs … generally love to argue … and enjoy playing devil’s advocate. They sometimes confuse, even inadvertently hurt, those who don’t understand or accept the concept of argument as a sport.

Brave new associations flow freely from the unconscious into the world of the living. Making, discovering and developing connections between and among two or more of anything is virtually automatic.

This portrait calls the ENTP the “Visionary” type. Not so sure about that, but it does contain this:

ENTPs are less interested in developing plans of actions or making decisions than they are in generating possibilities and ideas. Following through on the implementation of an idea is usually a chore to the ENTP. For some ENTPs, this results in the habit of never finishing what they start. The ENTP who has not developed their Thinking process will have problems with jumping enthusiastically from idea to idea, without following through on their plans. The ENTP needs to take care to think through their ideas fully in order to take advantage of them.

Hmmm. I guess that’s why I’m in grad school: To “develop my Thinking process.” Ben says that one of the purposes of doing a Ph.D. is to show that you can pick a project and stick to it for 2 or 3 years.

One of the reasons I’m typically dubious of personality tests like this is that I often have a hard time choosing a yes-or-no answer to the questions. I either am unable to evaluate myself in that particular way, or I don’t see it as a yes-or-no question. In the test I took, for example, there were 17 of the 72 questions that I was unsure about. That’s almost 25%. After answering them to the best of my ability, I went back and experimented with different answers to the hard questions to see how it changed the results — I even tried answering all 17 “yes”, and then all 17 “no”. It always came out ENTP. All that changed was the strength of expression for some of the traits. That’s a pretty robust result.

