Forum for Artificial Intelligence — Fall 2003

Better late than never: Matt MacMahon and I finally have the fall schedule lined up for the Forum for Artificial Intelligence. The main cause for the delay was that Pat Beeson and I both wanted to “retire” from FAI this year, I having just completed my dissertation proposal and he trying to propose this semester. Generally only one FAI organizer retires at a time, to ensure continuity. In the end, I decided to stay on, and Matt replaced Pat. Since all three of us are taking a class friday afternoon during the traditional 3-4pm FAI timeslot, we’ve decided to run the series as a brown-bag lunch talk/discussion series, though sometimes speaker schedules will require that we depart from that format.

Anyway, I’m pleased to announce that the first speaker will be Tony Cassandra, from St. Edwards University CS, talking about Partially Observable Markov Decision Processes, a mathematical model for reasoning with uncertainty. The talk will be at 11:30 a.m. in Taylor Hall 3.128 at UT.

